Fun with Polka Dots

I wanted to try out a new polka dot background cling stamp that I bought by Hero Arts.  So, I used it to create some black and white polka dot backgrounds and made this card.

For the black paper with white polka dots, I heat embossed white embossing powder on black card stock. For the white paper with black dots, I simply stamped with black Versafine ink on white card stock. I then took those sheets and die cut some flowers using Spellbinders dies and assembled the layered flowers that you see.  At the center of each flower, I used red brads to keep them together and add some color.  On the right, I used some of the left over polka dot scrap to cut a scalloped edge and added the red edge for additional accent color. On the left,  I used a Paper Smooches die for the dotted border

IMG_0967_2

The supplies I used are below:

White card stock
Black card stock
Red card stock
Red brads (large and small)
Red stickle (to add a little color to butterfly)
White embossing powder
VersaMark ink pad
Versafine ink pad (Onxy Black)
Penny Black Sprinkles and Smiles stamp set (sentiment)
Hero Arts Clings (Background Polka Dot Cling stamp)
Inkadinkado Dot Flourishes
Memory Box Stitched Country Borders
Memory Box Lunette Butterfly
Memory Box Oriel Butterfly
Memory Box Scrollwork Sleeve
Paper Smooches Dots & Dashes
Spellbinders Rose Creations by Donna Salazar

I am entering this card in the following Challenges:
Dies R Us Challenge #47 – Black & White
Paper Smooches April challenge- BLACK/WHITE & POP of COLOR
Cuttlebug Mania – Butterflies challenge
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Anything Goes

Thanks for visiting!

*****

 

2 thoughts on “Fun with Polka Dots

Leave a Reply

